Tuesday Jan 16
Review: Bumpin Uglies – Go Folk Yourself

Bumpin Uglies – Go Folk Yourself
1.) Hallucinations
2.) Morning After
3.) One Foot in Front of the Other
4.) Either Or
5.) Food Chain
6.) High Ropes
7.) 500 Miles
8.) White Boy Reggae
9.) Move Along
10.) Mistaken
11.) Nine Words
12.) Pocket of Ones
13.) End
14.) Struggling

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: June 17th, 2012
Official Website: Bumpin’ Uglies Website

Group Background:
The Annapolis, MD trio known as the Bumpin’ Uglies, led by front man Brandon Hardesty, have been spreading their music at venues around the country since 2009. As their fan base began to expand across the East Coast, they took their talents to new cities across the country in an effort to fuel the growth of their following and to share the laid back reggae vibes.

Prior to Go Folk Yourself, they released their independent debut LP titled Free Candy in June of last year. The majority of the tracks on both albums draw from the trio’s real life experiences, touching on themes and topics their fans are often able to relate to. Their brand of reggae/rock/ska fusion is not unlike that of a mellowed out Reel Big Fish, yet they have found a way to make it their own.

Album Review:
Go Folk Yourself plays on that musical personality trait, bringing you an entire acoustic album for your listening pleasure.

An acoustic take of Hallucinations, which can also be found on their debut LP, sets the stage for what has yet to come. As the track list progresses, Free Candy re-hashes Mistaken and Nine Words make appearances among the otherwise original melodies.

I appreciated the variety in lyrical content throughout, ranging from songs of love and lust to those of betrayal and sin. However, one of the pitfalls I find from time to time with strictly acoustic albums is that towards the close, the vocals that drew you in from the beginning sort of lose their edge due to a general lack of a supporting ensemble. I noticed a hint of that here, seeing as it was a 14 track record, but not enough to make me want to stop listening.

The transition from the Bumpin’ Uglies traditionally rhythmically upbeat tone to that of a more dampened acoustic set was interesting, however, I think it was done rather well. The adaptations of their previously released songs complemented the originals, while the addition of those that were newly recorded rounded out the album as a whole.

After listening to Go Folk Yourself in it’s entirety, I found there to be highs and lows, some songs better than others, but there was enough balance overall to make it an okay album. I suggest it to listeners looking for something new, especially those who prefer a slowed down acoustic vibe.

Written & Reviewed By: Jason Gallagher

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *