Thursday Feb 22
January 2014 Album Releases

From Mike Pinto to Passafire, Dirty Heads to The Green, Iration and Pepper, 2013 was really a great year for new Reggae-Rock records. Be sure to check out the links below in case you missed any album that came out last year. As for 2014, the year is already heating up, as it looks to be another strong year of new music…

Be sure to read through The Pier’s Most Anticipated Albums of 2014 article, for a list of over 25 artist anticipating record releases in 2014. Below, you can checkout these 7 releases dropping in January. If there are any albums we missed, drop them in the comments below or on our Facebook or Twitter.

Check out the Album Releases from last year:

  • January 2013 Album Releases
  • February 2013 Album Releases
  • March 2013 Album Releases
  • April 2013 Album Releases
  • May 2013 Album Releases
  • June 2013 Album Releases
  • July 2013 Album Releases
  • August 2013 Album Releases
  • September 2013 Album Releases
  • October 2013 Album Releases
  • November 2013 Album Releases
  • December 2013 Album Releases

    January 2014 Album Releases

    Kbong – Rising EP
    Release Date: January 7th
    kbong Known as the keyboardist for Stick Figure, Kevin Bong, through his own solo project as lead singer and song writer under Kbong, has released his first solo EP entitled Rising>. Released January 7th and debuting at #7 on the iTunes reggae charts the EP is made up of 4 tracks, including “In Session” featuring E.N Young.

    You can pick up the Rising EP on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!

    Aer – Self-Titled
    Release Date: January 21st
    AER On January 21st, Aer will be releasing their 12 track self-titled album under their own Aer, LLC label. “Won’t Laugh” and “Spades, Clubs & Diamonds” are projecting to be the albums singles. They also just released a new music video for the song, “Says She Loves Me”. The album was self-produced in Aer’s Boston studio. Their sound is more hip hop than reggae, but a great change up to the playlist and a must have album for 2014!

    You can pick up Aeron iTunes now, by clicking HERE!

    Three Legged Fox – We Are Electric
    Release Date: January 21st
    Dishes-Cover-smlr Philadelphia’s alternative–Reggae-Rock band, Three Legged Fox, will release their 4th studio album titled We Are Electric. Following 2011’s Always Anyway a record that hit #2 on the iTunes Reggae Chart, Produced at Soundmine Studios, the new album is set to include 12 tracks. “It’s an alternative rock record with a small touch of reggae here and there, as opposed to the other way around. There’s a song called ‘Mercy’ that has kind of a Nashville vibe that was something a little different for us …We worked hard to make sure that every song is evocative of the vibe of the overall album. Each one is it’s own musical journey.”

    Read more about the album by clicking HERE!

    You can pick up We Are Electric on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!

    Wayne MarshallTru Colors
    Release Date: January 21st
    WAYNE-MARSHALL-TRU-COLORS Jamaican reggae singjay Wayne Marshall will release Tru Colors, his first full-length album in over 10 years, and his debut studio release under the Marley label Ghetto Youths International. Released January 21, distributed through Thirty Tigers / Sony Red, the 13-track collection, produced primarily by Damian Marley, follows Marshall’s recent digital-only EP, Tru Colors and his 2003 VP Records’ LP, Marshall Law. Discussing his work with the Ghetto Youths International label in a press release Marshall is quoted, “I feel very good about the songs that we have put together and believe Tru Colors will be a stepping stone towards taking my career to the next level.”

    Read more about the album by clicking HERE!

    You can pick up Tru Colors on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!

    The Mighty Mystic – Concrete World
    Release Date: January 28th
    Mighty-Mystic On January 28th, Mighty Mystic will be releasing his 2nd full length album titled Concrete World. The album is being released digitally through VP Records and is his first album in 4 years. Concrete World includes 14 tracks with guest appearances by Stephen Thunder & Michael Charles. The album received production from the legendary Tony ‘CD’ Kelly, Stephen Thunder, Mike Cip, the Thunder Band, Jourdan Orvosh & Chance One. Jamaica-born, Mighty Mystic is the younger brother to former Jamaican Prime Minister, Andrew Holness.

    You can pick up Concrete World on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!

    Sidereal – Third Times The Charm EP
    Release Date: January 28th
    Sidereal The Florida quartet, following 2013’s EP On The Rocks, Sidereal is set to release their third EP, aptly titled Third Times The Charm. Traveling up to record in Nashville, TN this past September & after two days in Castle Recording Studio, Sidereal was able to lay down 4 tracks, “Fire Drink,” “Circles,” “Find a Beach” and “Apple.” The band also spent time in Orlando, FL to film a music video for “Find a Beach,” due out later this year. As Sidereal continues to tour, this band is definitely an up and coming band to watch this year.

    House of Shem – Harmony
    Release Date: January 28th
    House_of_Shem After releasing their new record in New Zealand back on December 6th, House of Shem has signed a US & Europe distribution deal with VPAL Music (VP Records Music Group), setting a release date for Harmony on January 28th. The 12 tracks of Harmony follow the 2010’s Island Vibration which debuted #1 on the New Zealand Top 40 album chart and is currently certified Gold. The third album for this Kiwi reggae outfit was recorded in a variety of studios across New Zealand throughout 2013 and mixed at the Marley’s Tuff Gong studio in Jamaica with the legendary Errol Brown, producing and engineering the release.

    You can pick up Harmony on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!

    Article By: Aaron Solomon

    Click The Banner Below To Read Our Most Anticipated Albums of 2014

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *