Tuesday Jan 16

Archive for July, 2009

Show Recap: Del Mar, Bert Susanka, Rome and more

It was a fun night in Long Beach with Del Mar, Bert Susanka, Rome and Kat and more taking to the stage at Di Piazzas. Luckily, The Pier was there with Brendon Davis ‘Turtle’ and the 442media crew to write this review and get some exclusive pictures and video footage. CLICK HERE to read and see all about it!

Check out the video of Rome and Bud Gaugh performing a cover of Sublime’s Ebin with Del Mar below. For more video from the show just check out the review!

Posted under Daily News, Sublime  |
The Pier Compilation Volume 1 Pre-Order Available Now

The Pier is proud to announce the Pre-order Launch for our exciting new compilation. Featuring all new and unreleased tracks from all the best reggae rock bands from the around the world (check out the tracklisting revealed below)!

Sponsored by Skullycandy and Gravity Skateboards, if you enjoyed The Pier Summer and Spring Samplers, this compilation is taking it to a whole new level! The first one hundred pre-orders will also come with a FREE Rasta wristband courtesy of Skullcandy and you will receive the album before anyone else!

Support the bands and the scene with this amazing compilation.

The Pier Compilation Volume 1 Track Listing:

  1. Dirty Heads w/Rome – Lay Me Down
  2. The Movement – Care (You Dont Even)
  3. John Brown’s Body – Make Your Move (Dubmatix Remix)
  4. Ballyhoo! – When Worlds Collide
  5. OPM – Holiday Under The Sun
  6. The Black Seeds – Strugglers
  7. The B Foundation – Time
  8. The Supervillians – Slosh
  9. Pato Banton – Reggae Party
  10. Mike Pinto – Never Say Never
  11. Cant Hang – Wait a Minute
  12. Rome – Only
  13. 3rd Alley – Antidote
  14. Another Day – Tell Me Baby
  15. Stick Figure – Livin It
  16. Sunset Bus – Take It Easy
  17. RAC – Flourish
  18. Flip & Rollie – Reggae Show
  19. Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad – International Mother Dub
Posted under Daily News, Stick Figure, The Dirty Heads  |
Meet Me at the Pub Studio Video

Check out this really cool video of Meet Me at the Pub recording its new album Tall Can Wednesday. This video was excellently edited by Brian Whipp.

Posted under Daily News  |
Slightly Stoopid @ Red Rocks

Check out the new Slightly Stoopid song The Way You Move filmed live at Red Rocks.

Posted under Daily News, Slightly Stoopid  |
The Pier Volume 1 Pre-Order Online Next Week

The Pier Volume 1 Compilation will be available for pre-order July 28 (NEXT TUESDAY!).

Featuring unreleased tracks from such bands as Dirty Heads, John Brown’s Body, The Supervillains, Ballyhoo!, OPM and tons more. By pre-ordering this will be you first chance to get a physical copy of the compilation of the year!

Look for more details nest Tuesday and the revealing of the compilation’s track-list!

Posted under Daily News, The Dirty Heads  |
Beastie Boys Delay Album & Tour Due to Illness

The Beastie Boys has canceled its recently announced tour dates and delayed its forthcoming record due to illness. The band’s label issued this statement:

Adam “MCA” Yauch of Beastie Boys was diagnosed last week as having a cancerous tumor in his left parotid (salivary) gland. Luckily it was caught early and is localized in one area, and as such is considered very treatable. It will however require surgery and several weeks of additional treatment. Fortunately the cancer is not in a location that will affect Yauch’s vocal chords. Beastie Boys has canceled all upcoming concert appearances to allow time for Yauch’s surgery and recovery. The release of the band’s forthcoming album Hot Sauce Committee Part 1 will also be pushed back.

Posted under Daily News  |
Skindred New Mini-Album Details

Skindred are excited to announce a September 21, 2009 street date for their upcoming new release, Shark Bites and Dog Fights. Set to feature new Ragga-Punk-Metal classics, the album was produced by Matt LaPlant (Sikth) at Bieler Bros. Studios in Pompano Beach, Florida.

Make sure to check this album out, while Skindred may not play the cruise-y beach music most of the bands featured on The Pier do, it makes some of the most creative music going around – period.

Posted under Daily News  |
The Pier Volume 1 Compilation Dropping August 18

The Pier is excited to announce its amazing new compilation is dropping exclusively here at The Pier – August 18. The album features 19 never before released tracks and for the first time be available both in digital and physical formats!

Pre-order details will be announced next week!

In the lead up to the release expect unprecedented coverage, including MP3 Leaks and Interviews with all the bands involved! Start spreading the word!

The confirmed artist line-up is as follows:

  • Dirty Heads
  • John Brown’s Body
  • The Supervillains
  • Pato Banton
  • Ballyhoo!
  • The B Foundation
  • OPM
  • Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad
  • The Movement
  • 3rd Alley
  • Can’t Hang
  • The Black Seeds
  • RAC
  • Mike Pinto
  • Another Day
  • Rome
  • Stick Figure
  • Sunset Bus
  • Flip & Rollie
Posted under Daily News, Stick Figure, The Dirty Heads  |
Big Announcement Tomorrow at The Pier

For those folks dying for more information regarding the next Pier Compilation, make sure you stop by tomorrow for the first of many big announcements!

Posted under Daily News  |
Classic Music Video: Fat Freddy’s Drop – “Roady”

Mike (Fisher 26) says:

As some of you may know I am currently in NZ ripping up the mountains and when I am riding I love to have my tunes pumping. One band that have been on constant rotation is New Zealand’s Fat Freddy’s Drop. Its style has been described as bbq reggae which is a fair assessment, but to elaborate, the band’s music mixes dub, reggae and soul to make a truly refreshing sound. The beats remind me of Jurrassic 5 which I think we will all agree can only be a good thing.

Check out this sweet video for one of FFD sickest songs called Roady.

Posted under Daily News  |